ECC announces Academic All-Region honors

The Ellsworth Community College athletic department has been informed by the Iowa Community College Athletic Conference (ICCAC) that 55 ECC student-athletes qualified for Academic All-Region honors. First Team honorees must have a grade point average (GPA) of 3.5 to 4.0, and Second Team honorees must have a 3.0 to 3.49 GPA.

The Panther men's basketball team qualified three players for academic honors: First Team honoree was Kalehl Brown of Waterloo; Second Team honors went to Kalund Brown of Waterloo and Mark Kelly of Tauranga, New Zealand.

The women's basketball team qualified nine players: First Team includes Alivia Zubrod of New Hartford; Ashley Gates of Lake City, MN; Justice Thigpen of Tampa, FL; and Leslie Birkenholz of Hopkins, MO. Jordyn Lehman of Iowa City, Molly Greenfield of Williams, and Tijuana Weatherspoon of Pensacola, FL. Second Team honors went to Keziah Lewis of Hobsonville, New Zealand; and April Jones of Humboldt.

The baseball team qualified seventeen players: First Team includes Austin Douglas of Canon City, CO; Coy Baker of Slater; David Janes of Dubuque; Jase Grant of Dubuque; Jonathon Fleek of Albert Lea, MN; Max Gavin of Omaha, NE; and William Alvarez of Barquisimeto, Venezuela. Second Team honorees included Albert Ordonez of  Los Teques, Venezuela; Alexander Rivera of Arecibo, Puerto Rico; Axel Parra of Carora, Venezuela; Broderick Kunzmann of Sioux Falls, SD; Carlos Villegas of Rio Grande, Puerto Rico; Kevin Pantoja of Vega Baja, Puerto Rico; Nick Masyga of Winona, MN; Roberto Prado of Vega Baja, Puerto Rico; Trey Muilenburg of Bettendorf; and William Pearson of Winfield, IL.

Football qualified nine players for the Academic All-Region team; First team includes Andrew Jones of Des Moines and Mitch Wieland of Iowa City. Second Team includes Alexander Caldwell of Clinton; David Goldsby of St. Louis, MO; Dustin Caldwell of Clinton; Jamal Hansen of Ankeny; Joe DiTomaso of Bondurant; Johnathan Boone of Orlando, FL; and Tyler McKimmey of Gilmore City.

Seven Panther volleyball players earned Academic All-Region honors. First team includes Mary Goergen of Rochester, MN; Mary Jane Halder of Iowa Falls; and Madison Grabau of Kasson-Mantorville, MN.  Second Team honorees are Allison Kuennen of Lawler; April Jones of Humboldt; Cristina Negron of Camuy, Puerto Rico; and Keisha Machado of Manati, Puerto Rico.

The Panther softball team qualified 10 players for academic honors: First Team honorees were Adrienne Miller of Millersburg, IN; Bailie Schipper of Aplington; Brianna Schaefer of Denver; Jenna Boardman of De Soto, WI; Keisha Machado Cintron of Manati, Puerto Rico; Madalynn Ratchford of Independence; Mikayla Songin of Walpole, MA; Molly Greenfield of Williams; and Sydney Vrban of Waukee. Kortney Crosser of Hubbard received Second Team honors.