2017 Football honors awarded

2017 Football honors awarded

The Iowa Community College Athletic Conference (ICCAC) has announced 2017 Football season honors. Ten Ellsworth Community College football players have received ICCAC All-Conference recognition and 19 are named All-Region players.

All-Conference honorees included running back Tekendrick Roberson (Winter Haven, FL); receivers Ren Rooney (Donnellson, IA) and Drew Greenhaw (Muscatine, IA); offensive linemen Matt Platko (Marietta, GA) and Logan MacDonald (Davenport, FL); linebacker Javonte Arius (Winter Haven, FL); linemen Keonte Schad (Madison, WI), Demitrius Caddell (Waterloo, IA) and Naeem Smith (Iowa City, IA); and snapper Derek Nixon (Cherokee, IA).

Roberson was 3rd leading rusher in the conference with 725 yards in 10 games, and he scored four touchdowns. Rooney was 5th in the NJCAA for most passes received (59). Greenhaw had the most receiving yards (771), which put him 8th in the NCJAA. Smith was the leading tackler for the Panthers with 69, and 51 of those were solo; he also had two interceptions. Arius was 2nd on the team with tackles (63), followed by Caddell (49) and Schad (45). All three finished the season with 10 or more tackles for a loss. Caddell had four sacks and Arius finished with 3.5.

Nineteen Panthers received ICCAC All-Region honors with 7 on the 1st team, 9 on the 2nd team and 3 receiving honorable mention.

First Team All-Region honorees are wide receivers Rooney and Greenhaw, defensive line Caddell and Schad, linebacker Arius, offensive line Platko, and defensive back Smith.

Second Team All-Region honorees include quarterback Paris Chambers (Mobile, AL), running back Roberson, wide receiver Savion Johnson (Minneapolis, MN), defensive line Jahid Beamon (Easton, PA), linebackers Robert Odeneal (Kankakee, IL) and Deangelo Anderson (Prichard, AL), offensive line MacDonald and Bradley Sandiford (Madison, WI), and defensive back Josh Belle (Palm Coast, FL).

Honorable Mention All-Region honorees include defensive line Isaiah Childs (Greenwood, MO) and Torrian Scrutchins (Cartersville, GA) and linebacker Sam Gerst (Waterloo, IA).

The Panthers will play Northland Community & Technical College (MN) in the Graphic Edge Bowl at the University of Northern Iowa in Cedar Falls on Sunday, Dec. 3, at 11 am.