ECC football All-Region honors awarded

ECC football All-Region honors awarded

Sixteen Ellsworth Community College football players were named this week by the Iowa Community College Athletic Conference (ICCAC) to All-Region teams, and four additional Panthers received honorable mentions for their efforts on the field this season.

First Team All-Conference honors went to sophomore offensive lineman Tanis Joseph of Ft. Lauderdale, FL; sophomore offensive lineman Rob Castaneda of Round Rock, TX; sophomore offensive lineman Ben Russell of Waterloo, IA; sophomore defensive end Louy Compton of Waterford, MI; sophomore defensive tackle Reggie Miles of Chicago, IL; sophomore linebacker Ryan Guthrie of Forsyth County, GA; sophomore linebacker Nikolas Ricks of Akron, OH and sophomore wide receiver Jamarius Way of Belle Glade, FL.

Several Panthers were in the top in their areas in the nation. Way had eleven touchdowns for the season putting him 5th in polls. Compton was 5th in sacks with 12.5. Guthrie was ranked third in the nation for total tackles with 134 for the season, averaging 12.2 per game.

Second Team All-Conference honors went to freshman defensive end Demetrius Caddell of Waterloo, IA; sophomore defensive tackle Mike Maher of Cedar Rapids, IA; freshman corner Elijah Jones of Fort Myers, FL; freshman strong safety Javonte Arius of Winter Haven, FL; freshman wide receiver Juwan Petit-Frere of Orlando, FL; freshman running back Tekendrick Roberson of Winter Haven, FL; freshman running back Ethan Barnett of Donnellson, IA and freshman quarterback Paris Chambers of Mobile, AL.

Honorable mentions were earned by sophomore offensive lineman Edvin Kovacevic of Waterloo, IA; freshman defensive tackle Lucas Depriest of Cedar Falls, IA and sophomore quarterback Lamont Toney of Rockford, IL.


Photo Caption: 1st Team honoree Reggie Miles takes down a player in the Panthers matchup against Independence Community College earlier in the season.