ECC announces Academic All-Region honors

ECC announces Academic All-Region honors

The Ellsworth Community College athletic department has been informed by the Iowa Community College Athletic Conference (ICCAC) that 51 ECC student-athletes qualified for Academic All-Region honors. First Team honorees must have a grade point average (GPA) of 3.5 to 4.0, and Second Team honorees must have a 3.0 to 3.49 GPA.

The women's basketball team qualified seven players: First Team includes Antoinette Williams of Jacksonville, FL; Olivia Barrett of Marshalltown; Rebekah Hart of Elgin, MN; and Sydney See of Nevada. Second Team honors went to April Jones of Humboldt; Chantelle Rumph of Sanford, FL; and Megan Marlette of Ackley.

The baseball team qualified 21 players: First Team includes Braeden Dunten of Pinetop-Lakeside, AZ; Bryan Natter of Mesa, AZ; Chris Harsh of Des Moines; Collin Arndt of Sheffield; Jase Grant of Dubuque; Max Gavin of Omaha, NE; Phillip Zimmerman of Traer; Roberto Prado of Vega Baja, Puerto Rico; Thomas Ruwe of Arlington, NE; and Tyrus Lopez of Montrose, CO. Second Team honorees included Ben Cherry of Austin, TX; Cody Huckfelt of Spencer; Colton Determann of Polk City; David Janes of Dubuque; Jacob Kompf of Stratford, ON; Jeremy Bentley of Des Moines; John Chacon of Kansas City, MO; Jonathon Fleek of Albert Lea, MN; Logan Hamann of Eldridge; Travis Miller of Cumberland, WI; and William Alvarez of Barquisimeto, Venezuela.

The Panther softball team qualified 12 players for academic honors: First Team honorees were Ashton Hoffman of Newton; Bradi Yost of Parkersburg; Brianna Schaefer of Denver; Danielle Williams of Danville; Jenna Boardman of Genoa, WI; and Sarae Evans of Manning, IA; Sydney Vrban of Waukee. Second Team honorees included Jami Johnson of Ackley; Jodi Johnson of Ackley; Kayla Brady of Des Moines; Madalynn Ratchford of Independence; and Raechel Campbell of Parkersburg.

The wrestling team had six players receive academic honors. First Team honorees were Jordan Gundrum of West Bend, WI; and Sadarriss Patterson of Hanover Park, IL. Second team honorees were Bobby Alexander of Schaumburg, IL; Marcus Deren of Middletown, CT; Marky Felix of Miramar, FL and Tepra Wright of Milwaukee, WI.

ECC golf had five academic honorees. First Team honorees were Anibal Reinoso of Papudo, Valparaiso Chile and Cole Birchmier of Story City. Second team honorees included Rebecca Geitz of Iowa Falls; Brannon Arends of Alden; and Samuel Miller of Story City, IA.

"We are extremely proud of our student athletes for being recognized for their work in the classroom," commented ECC Athletic Director Nate Forsyth.