ECC announces Academic All-Region honors

The Ellsworth Community College athletic department has been informed by the Iowa Community College Athletic Conference (ICCAC) that ECC 41 student-athletes qualified for Academic All-Region honors. First Team honorees must have a GPA of 3.5 – 4.0, and Second Team must have a 3.0 to 3.49 GPA.

The Panther men's basketball team had five players qualify for academic honors: First Team honorees are Kalund Brown of Waterloo, Kalehl Brown of Waterloo, and Bedipeny Worm of Des Moines. Ivan Donat of Zadar, Croatia, and Justin McFadden of Ft. Lauderdale, FL, were named to the Second Team.

The women's basketball team had 10 players qualify: First Team includes Leslie Birkenholz of Hopkins, MO; Ashley Gates of Lake City, MN; Molly Greenfield of Williams; Jordyn Lehman of Iowa City; Genie Payne of New Hampton; Bailie Schipper of Aplington; Justice Thigpen of Tampa, FL; Tijuana Weatherspoon of Pensacola, FL; and Alivia Zubrod of New Hartford. Keziah Lewis of Hobsonville, New Zealand, was named to the Second Team.

Wrestling had four Academic All-Region honorees: First Team DeShun Brown of Albuquerque, NM; and Second Team Matthew Hurford of Culver, IN; Steven Candley of Arlington, TX; and Da'Wayne Robertson of Mesa, AZ.

Football qualified 10 players for the Academic All-Region team: First team Josh Kirk of Maquoketa; Zaybreion Gunter of Baldwin, FL; Cedric McCoy of Palatka, FL; and Joe Zimmeman of Traer. Second Team Kendall Behrendt of Schleswig; Garrett Underwood of Jewell; Brandon McCracken of Parkersburg; Koddy Hildreth of Iowa Falls; Devon Calhoun of Cape Coral, FL; and De'Quan McDowell of Marshalltown.

Volleyball had 12 players make the Academic All-Region team: First team Mary Besler of Iowa City; Mary Jane Halder of West Des Moines; Genie Payne of New Hampton; Jessica Jones of Knoxville; Alicia Kjos of Lake City, MN; Sydnay Lehman of Iowa City; Keisha Machado of Manati, Puerto Rico; Allison Hornbrook of West Des Moines; and Burgundy Oelmann of Iowa Falls. Second Team honorees are Alissa Denn of Saint Paul, MN; Madison Grabau of Kasson-Mantorville, MN; and Darayliz Santiago of Florida, Puerto Rico.