ECC football players earn All-Conference honors

ECC football players earn All-Conference honors

Thirteen Ellsworth Community College football players were named this week by the National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) to All-Conference teams, and five additional Panthers received honorable mentions for their efforts on the field this season.

First Team All-Conference honors went to sophomore wide receiver Tyrian Taylor of Orlando, FL; freshman running back Xavier Washpun of Iowa City, IA; sophomore left tackle Brian Steffensmeier of Dyersville, IA; freshman right tackle Cedric McCoy of Palatka, FL; sophomore middle linebacker Angelo Sumler of Hampton, AR; sophomore strong safety Josh Kirk of Maquoketa, IA and sophomore punter Dayton Balvanz of Eldora, IA.

Second Team All-Conference honors went to sophomore quarterback DeMarius Davis of Sarasota, FL; freshman wide receiver Tad Steffensen of Marshalltown, IA; freshman defensive end Kevin Thompson of Baltimore, MD; freshman middle linebacker Terry Mooty of Cedar Falls, IA; freshman outside linebacker Dawayne Pruitt of Miami, FL; freshman free safety Kearvis Ardley of Sarasota, FL and sophomore returner Tyrian Taylor of Orlando, FL.

Honorable mentions were earned by freshman running back Zaybreion Gunter of Baldwin, FL; freshman left guard Marquan Clayton of Ft Dodge, IA; freshman defensive end Tyler Chaudoin of Genera, FL; freshman corner back O'Daryl Davis Douglas of Sarasota, FL and sophomore corner back Lachel Durant of Florence, SC.

"Our all-conference players were all very deserving of these awards," commented ECC Head Football Coach Jesse Montalto. "Each of them had a great season and are a big part of our program's success."