Header Background
Index Link Logo Link

ECC football players earn All-Conference honors

ECC football players earn All-Conference honors

Nine Ellsworth Community College football players were named this week by the National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) to Midwest All-Conference teams, and two additional Panthers received honorable mentions for their efforts on the field this season.

First Team All-Conference honors went to sophomore linebacker Devante Averette of Melvindale, MI; sophomore linebacker Irving Steele of Ft. Lauderdale, FL; and sophomore defensive back Corry O'Meally of Miami, FL.

Second Team All-Conference honors went to sophomore quarterback Oscar Ross of Conley, GA; sophomore running back Trey Gilbert of Winfield, LA; freshman offensive lineman Brian Steffensmeier of Dyersville, IA; sophomore linebacker Lamore Wise of St. Louis, MO; sophomore defensive back Demarkus Cary of St. Louis, MO; and freshman punter/kicker Dayton Balvanz of Eldora, IA.

Honorable mentions were earned by sophomore wide receiver Ciavy Wiles of Loganville, GA, and sophomore defensive back Terrell Simmons of Norcross, GA.

Photo caption: Front row from left to right: Devante Averette, Oscar Ross, Corry Omeally, Trey Gilbert, Terrell Simmons, DeMarkus Carey Second row: Brian Steffensmeier, Lamore Wise, Dayton Balvanz, Ciavy Wiles, Irving Steele.