Fifteen ECC Panther athletes earn academic honors

Fifteen Ellsworth Community College student-athletes have qualified for NJCAA recognition for their excellence in the classroom. 

The softball team had four players receive the Exemplary Academic Achievement Award: Bradi Yost of Parkersburg; Jenna Boardman of Genoa, WI; Sarae Evans of Manning; and Sydney Vrban of Waukee.

The baseball team also had four players receive honors: Jase Grant of Dubuque; Max Gavin of Omaha, NE; and Roberto Prado of Vega Baja, Puerto Rico, earned Exemplary Academic Achievement Awards. Tyrus Lopez of Montrose, CO received a Superior Academic Achievement Award.

The women's basketball team had three players receiving Superior Academic Achievement Awards: Olivia Barritt of Marshalltown; Rebekah Hart of Elgin, MN; and Tiffany Jacobson of Jewel.

Volleyball players Mary Goergen of Rochester, MN; and Tiffany Jacobson of Jewel received Exemplary Academic Achievement Awards.

Wrestler Jordan Gundrum of West Bend, WI, received an Exemplary Academic Achievement Award.

"We are very proud of our student-athletes that received this honor," commented ECC Athletic Director Nate Forsyth. "They have set the bar high for every student-athlete on our campus."

To qualify for recognition, each student-athlete must have completed at least three full-time terms of attendance and at minimum 45 completed credit hours of coursework. The NJCAA has three levels of recognition: 1) the Pinnacle Award for Academic Excellence is for students earning a perfect 4.0 grade point average/GPA; 2) the Award for Superior Academic Achievement is for students earning between a 3.8 - 3.99 GPA; and 3) the Award for Exemplary Academic Achievement is for students earning between a 3.6 - 3.79 GPA.