ECC Athletics announces Academic All-Region honors

ECC Athletics announces Academic All-Region honors

The Ellsworth Community College athletic department has been informed by the Iowa Community College Athletic Conference (ICCAC) that 38 ECC student-athletes qualified for Academic All-Region honors. First Team honorees must have a grade point average (GPA) of 3.5 to 4.0, and Second Team honorees must have a 3.0 to 3.49 GPA.

The Panther baseball team qualified 15 players: First Team includes Thomas Auth of Hopkins, MN; Roger Camacho of Cali-Colombia, VA; Adrien Clark of Minneapolis, MN; Austin Edwards of Huxley, IA; Cedric Girard of Oregon, WI; Jacob Leaffer of Cherry Hills Village, CO; Tyrese Mitchell of Milwaukee, WI; Marino Pugnetti of Queen Creek, AZ; and Michael Wallace of Minneapolis, MN. Second Team honorees include Alex Bledsoe of Albert Lea, MN; Reed Collins of Farmington, MN; Jacob Schellpfeffer of Maryville, WI; Kobey Schlotman of North Liberty, IA; Alexander Schneider of Bloomington, MN; and Antonio Valadez of Milwaukee, WI.

The men's basketball team qualified one player on First Team: Kevin Rewoldt of Eldora, IA.

The women's basketball team qualified eight players: First Team includes Haili Cady of Winona, MN; Alicia Limones of Belvidere, IL; Meredith Lincoln of Saratoga, WY; Cheyann Marshall of Dunlap, IA; Samantha Miller of Lincoln, NE; and Sydney Nystrom of Waterloo, IA. Second Team honors went to Tayla Nulty of Ballarat, Australia; and Bailey Stroud of Columbus Junction, IA.

The softball team qualified 10 players for academic honors: First Team honorees were Harlie Durr of Newton, IA; Hannah Hoffman of St. Joseph, MO; Sidney Larsen of Des Moines, IA; Kathryn Payne of Lexington, MO; Kathleen Smith of Robins, IA; Mekenzie Wright of Platte, MO. Second Team honorees included Kylie Adden of Garner, KS; Ivy Aulwes of Guttenberg, IA; Madison Dewit of Knoxville, IA; and Alexis Riggall of Centerville, IA.

The sports shooting team qualified one player on First Team: George Haefner of Walker, IA.

The wrestling team had three players receive academic honors. Second team honorees were Myron Crawford of St. Charles, MO; Darrell Mason of Chicago, IL; and Zach Garza of Dumas, TX.

 "We are extremely proud of our student-athletes for being recognized for their work in the classroom," commented ECC Athletic Director Nate Forsyth.