ECC announces Academic All-Region honors

The Ellsworth Community College athletic department has been informed by the Iowa Community College Athletic Conference (ICCAC) that 62 ECC student-athletes qualified for Academic All-Region honors. First Team honorees must have a grade point average (GPA) of 3.5 to 4.0, and Second Team honorees must have a 3.0 to 3.49 GPA.

The women's basketball team qualified five players: First Team includes Alicia Limones of Belividere, IL; Meredith Lincoln of Saratoga, WY and Sophie Helldorff of Caracas, Venezuela. Second Team honors went to Emily Ferrier of Frankston, Australia and Sydney Nystrom of Waterloo, IA.

The men's basketball team qualified six players: First Team includes Dayton Gooder of Hampton, IA and Tristan Forsyth of Melbourne, Australia. Second Team honors went to Jamal Antoine of Houston, TX; Levester Harris Jr. of Kankakee, IL; Logan Zobel of Traer, IA; Tate Muilenburg of Iowa Falls, IA.

The baseball team qualified 36 players: First Team includes Alex Bledsoe of Albert Lea, MN; Alexander Schneider of Bloomington, MN; Angel Oquendo Vazquez of Guaynabo, Puerto Rico; Austin Edwards of Huxley, IA; Brandon Mockler of Vermillion, SD; Bryce Charipar of Cedar Rapids, IA; Christopher Harsh of Des Moines, IA; Delio Fuertes Delgado of Jims Abajo, Dominican Republic; Dylan Gordon of Winona, MN; Jared Haack of DeWitt, IA; Kai Reinertson of Slater, IA; Michael Guinane of Grinnell, IA; Nelvin Boscan Altuna of Maracaibo, Venezuela; Roger Camacho Quinones of Barquisimeto, Venezuela; Trevor Smisek of New Prague, MN; Collin Vanderlind of Dike, IA; Kevin Raisbeck of Beloit, WI; Kyle Schmitt of West Des Moines, IA and Nolan Friedrichs of Edina, MN. Second Team honorees included Austin Wagner of Ford Du Lac, WI; Brodie Smith of Red Wing, MN; Bryan Paez Lopez of Aragua, Venezuela; Cameren Happel of Waterloo, IA; Charles Whitson of Rolla, MO; Ethan Hafner of Sterling, IL; Greg Anderberg of Ankeny, IA; Jalen Hunter of Indianola, IA; Kobey Schlotmann of North Liberty, IA; Logan Becker of Shakopee, MN; Luis Quinones of Loza, Puerto Rico; Miguel Betancourt of Beloit, WI; Nathan Doleman of Courtenay, British Columbia; Palmer Cruickshank of Bowmanville, Ontario Canada; Reed Collins of Farmington, MN; Sebastian Holte-Mancera of Woodbury, MN and Trent Bauer of Green Bay, WI.

The Panther softball team qualified nine players for academic honors: First Team honorees were Natalee Dippel of Belmond, IA; Cali Byrn of Lawrence, KS; Kaitlyn Kelley of Essex, IA; Samantha Mills of Lawrence, KS; Sydney Kramer of Donnellson, IA; Kaylee Rynish of Bonduel, WI and Mekenzie Wright of Platte City, MO. Second Team honorees included Alexis Riggal of Centerville, IA and Brooke Myers of Dike, IA.

The wrestling team had six players receive academic honors. First Team honoree was Timothy Young Aurora, IL. Second team honorees were Cameron Mayes-Butler of Davenport, IA; Justin Folley of Milwaukee, WI; Michael Kent of Iowa Falls, IA; Tanner Gonzalez of Manistique, MI and Zachariah Garza of Dumas, TX.

 "We are extremely proud of our student athletes for being recognized for their work in the classroom," commented ECC Athletic Director Nate Forsyth.