ECC announces Academic All-Region honors

ECC announces Academic All-Region honors

The Ellsworth Community College athletic department has been informed by the National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) that 29 ECC student-athletes were awarded Academic All-Region honors for their performance in the classroom. First Team honorees must have a grade point average (GPA) of 4.0, Second Team honorees must have a 3.80 to 3.99 GPA and Third Team honorees must have a 3.60 to 3.79 GPA.

The baseball team qualified ten players on Second Team including: Brandon Mockler of Burbank, SD; Bryce Charipar of Cedar Rapids, IA; Isaiah Cronk of Eau Claire, WI; Kevin Raisbeck of Beloit, WI; Kyle Schmitt of Waukee, IA; Michael Guinane of Grinnell, IA; Nolan Friedrichs of Edina, MN; Travis Miller of Cumberland, WI; and Trevor Smisek of New Prague, MN.

The volleyball team qualified six players on Second Team including Allison Sheridan of Alden, IA; Amber Workman of Grimes, IA; Ashley Kraber of Prole, IA; Carlin Whelpley of Athem, AZ; Madison Hoch of Algona, IA; and Nicole Nielsen of Waterloo, IA.

The football team had five players receive academic honors. Second Team honorees were Elijah Saemisch of Perry, IA. Third Team honors were awarded to: Austin Kneeland of Waterloo, IA; Hayden Heath of Davenport, IA; Jared Ernst of Clinton, IA; and Noah Brown of Mt. Pleasant, IA.

ECC softball had four academic honorees. First Team honoree was Cali Byrn of Lawrence, KS. Third Team honorees were Bradi Yost of Parkersburg, IA; Kaylee Rynish of Bonduel, WI; and Sydney Kramer of Donnellson, IA.

ECC women's basketball had three academic honorees. Second Team honorees including Rebekah Hart of Elgin, MN and Sophie Helldorff-Flores of Caracas, Venezuela. Abuk Deng of Amarillo, TX received Third Team honors.

ECC wrestling had one honoree with Jordan Gundrum of West Bend, WI.