ECC announces Academic All-Region honors

The Ellsworth Community College athletic department has been informed by the Iowa Community College Athletic Conference (ICCAC) that 52 ECC student-athletes qualified for Academic All-Region honors. First Team honorees must have a grade point average (GPA) of 3.5 to 4.0, and Second Team honorees must have a 3.0 to 3.49 GPA.

The women's basketball team qualified six players: First Team includes Abuk Deng of Amarillo, TX; Rebekah Hart of Elgin, MN; Sharena Tramble of Flint, MI; and Sophia Helldorf of Caracas, Venezuela. Second Team honors went to Antoinette Williams and Jahne Williams both of Jacksonville, FL.

The men's basketball team qualified three players for the Second Team All-Region. Amel Kuljuhovic of Waterloo, IA; Dayton Gooder of Hampton, IA and Tavares McGlaun of Southaven, MS.

The baseball team qualified 27 players: First Team includes Ben Cherry of Austin, TX; Brandon Mockler of Burbank, SD; Bryce Charipar of Cedar Rapids, IA; Chris Harsh of Des Moines, IA; Evan Straw of Zwingle, IA; Isaiah Cronk of Eau Claire, WI; Jalen Hunter of Indianola, IA; Jeremy Bentley of Des Moines, IA; John Chacon of Kansas City, MO; Kai Reinertson of Huxley, IA; Kevin Raisbeck of Beloit, WI; Kyle Schmitt of Waukee, IA; Manny Olutunde of Cedar Rapids, IA; Michael Guinane of Grinnell, IA; Michael Perry of West Des Moines, IA; Nolan Friedrichs of Edina, MN; Sebastian Holte-Mancera of Woodbury, MN; Travis Miller of Cumberland, WI; and Trevor Smisek of New Prague, MN. Second Team honorees included DeShawn Welch of Indianola, IA; Evan Jackson of Clinton, IA; Greg Anderberg of Ankeny, IA; Jacob Kompf of Stratford, ON; Luis Larrinaga of Corpus Christi, TX; Sergio Rivera of Grimes, IA; Spencer Patterson of Lakeville, MN; and Trenton Bauer of Green Bay, WI.

The Panther softball team qualified 10 players for academic honors: First Team honorees were Bradi Yost of Parkersburg, IA; Cali Byrn of Lawrence, KS; Jami Johnson of Ackley, IA; Kayla Brady of Des Moines, IA; Kaylee Rynish of Bonduel, WI; Raechel Campbell of Parkersburg, IA; and Sydney Kramer of Donnellson, IA. Second Team honorees included Brooke Myers of Dike, IA; Jodi Johnson of Ackley, IA; and Rebecca Harms of Monona, IA.

The wrestling team had six players receive academic honors. First Team honorees were Jordan Gundrum of West Bend, WI; and Kahlyn Chatman of Milwaukee, WI. Second team honorees were Javier Moreno of Columbia, SC; Jaycie Rudd of Tallahassee, FL; Justin Folley of Milwaukee, WI; and Preston Friedley of Waterloo, IA.

 "We are extremely proud of our student athletes for being recognized for their work in the classroom," commented ECC Athletic Director Nate Forsyth.