ECC announces Academic All-Region honors

ECC announces Academic All-Region honors

The Ellsworth Community College athletic department has been informed by the Iowa Community College Athletic Conference (ICCAC) that 62 ECC student-athletes qualified for Fall Academic All-Region honors. First Team honorees must have a grade point average (GPA) of 3.5 to 4.0, and Second Team honorees must have a 3.0 to 3.49 GPA.

The women's basketball team qualified six players: First Team includes Abuk Deng of Amarillo, TX; Rebekah Hart of Elgin, MN; and Sophie Helldorff of Caracas, Venezuela. Second Team honors went to Antoinette Williams and Jahne Williams of Jacksonville, FL and Sharena Tramble of Flint, MN.

The men's basketball team qualified six players: First Team includes Amel Kuljuhovic of Waterloo; Brandon Morin of Corpus Christi, TX; Dayton Gooder of Hampton; and Tavares McGlaun of Southaven, MS. Second Team honorees included Mark Kelly of Tauranga, New Zealand and Ronald Blount of Tampa, FL.

The wrestling team had ten players receive academic honors. First Team honorees were Drake Halblom of Alburnett; Javier Moreno of Columbia, SC; Jordan Gundrum of West Bend, WI; Justin Foley of Milwaukee, WI; Marcus Deren of Middletown, CT; and Preston Friedley of Waterloo. Second team honorees were Bret Sherkenbach of Auriella; Jaycie Rudd of Tallahassee, FL; Lerch Oremar of Miami, FL and Xaiver Maxwell of Samford, FL.

ECC volleyball had eight academic honorees. First Team honorees were Alexis Charles of Sedgwick, KS, Allison Sheridan of Alden; Amber Workman of Grimes; Ashley Kraber of Prole; Carlin Whelpley of Athem, AZ; Madison Hoch of Algona; Nicole Nielsen of Waterloo; and Tiffany Jacobson of Jewel.

ECC football had 32 academic honorees. First Team honorees were Anthony Cristoforo and Noah Brown of Mt. Pleasant, Austin Kneeland of Waterloo; Christopher Miller of Waukon; Elijah Saemisch of Perry; Hayden Heath of Davenport; Jake Schuman of Reinbeck; Jared Ernst of Clinton; Lucas DePriest of Cedar Falls; Ryan Guthrie of Forsyth County, GA; Shane Poppens of Aplington; Tyson Pillard of Rockwell; and Zachary Milner of Pflugerville, TX. Second team honorees were Alex Behr of Preston; Ben Russell of Waterloo; Benjamin Rooney, Ethan Barnett, and Justin Wright of Donnellson; Derek Nixon of Washington; Edvin Kovacevic of Waterloo; Jacob Kapustka of Nevada; Jakob Barten of West Liberty; Juwan Petit-Frere of Orlando, FL; Lane Boender of Delta; Mario Dungy of Mobile, AL; Michael Hughes of Mason City; Nikolas Ricks of Akron, OH; Reggie Miles of Chicago, IL; Tate Renaud of La Porte City; Tekendrick Roberson of Winter Haven, FL; Terrell Grant of Tama; and Zebulen Webb of Sigourney.

"We are extremely proud of our student athletes for being recognized for their work in the classroom," commented ECC Athletic Director Nate Forsyth.